Contact Us

    The CAPS State Survey Committee in Utah serves as an advisory group for CAPS survey activities in the state. Committee members meet as needed throughout the year to provide input on upcoming exotic pest surveys, discuss survey results, and share relevant information to interested parties, such as USU Extension, the Bureau of Land Management, the Utah State Horticultural Association, and the Utah Nursery and Landscape Association.

    Utah CAPS Committee Leaders

    Kris Watson

    Kris Watson

    Insect Program Manager (UDAF)
    kwatson@utah.gov

    Lori Spears

    Lori Spears

    State Survey Coordinator (USU)
    lori.spears@usu.edu
    (801) 688-4056
    BNR 203

    Dawn Holzer

    Dawn Holzer

    Pest Survey Specialist
    dawn.e.holzer@aphis.usda.gov
    (435) 797-2262
    BNR 329

    Utah CAPS Committee Members

    Greg Abbott

    Domestic Program Coordinator (APHIS)
    gregory.c.abbott@aphis.usda.gov

    Diane Alston

    Professor/Extension Entomologist (USU)
    diane.alston@usu.edu

    (435) 797-2516
    BNR 203

    Lisa Bryant

    Field Office Manager (BLM)
    lisa_bryant@blm.gov

    Ryan Davis

    Arthropod Diagnostician (USU)
    ryan.davis@usu.edu 
    (435) 797-2435
    BNR 203

    Howard Deer

    Professor/Extension Pesticide Coordinator (USU)
    howardd@ext.usu.edu 

    Edward Evans

    Professor (USU)
    ewevans@biology.usu.edu 

     

    Tim Higgs

    Weed Supervisor (UWCA)
    twhiggs@grand.utah.gov 

     

    Robert Hougaard

    State Plant Regulatory Official (UDAF)
    rhougaard@utah.gov 

     

    Alana Wild

    State Plant Health Director (APHIS)
    alana.l.wild@aphis.usda.gov 

     

    Steve Munson

    Forest Health Protection Group Leader (USFS)
    smunson@fs.fed.us 

     

    Claudia Nischwitz

    Assistant Professor/Extension Plant Pathologist (USU)
    claudia.nischwitz@usu.edu 
    (435) 797-7569
    BNR 203

     

    James Pitts

    Associate Professor
    james.pitts@usu.edu 
    (435) 797-8872

    Ricardo Ramirez

    Assistant Professor/Extension Entomologist (USU)
    ricardo.ramirez@usu.edu 
    (435) 797-8088
    BNR 203

    Ralph Whitesides

    Professor/Weed Science Extension Specialist (USU)
    ralph.whitesides@usu.edu 
    (435) 797-8252
    AGRS 325